top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlin Bountas

I'll be okay.

I was back. September 1915. The trench, the dead bodies, the foggy air, my terror has all returned back once again. ‘Why do I keep returning back to this day? Why can’t I forget about it?’


I hear the voice of my best friend…Adrien “Alex!” I look behind me and see him carrying a younger boy on his back. When they got closer the brunette, green eyed boy had blood gushing down his neck. Adrien cried for help “Alex, please help me get him back!” I knew this was against the rules, every man for themselves. They always taught us that if we can’t defend ourselves don't ask for pity from others: strong, fearless, tough. Before I could even answer, Adrien had this boy wrapped over my one shoulder. I look over at Adrien; he gives me this warm smile that I don't even know how he can mask during this horrifying time.


Bang! Bang! Boom! As we were jogging at a slow painful pace we passed many bodies. Bodies of men that were: husbands, sons, dads, and uncles all that are now dead on a dirty battlefield that are being stepped on and many not brought home to their loved ones alive nor dead.


All of a sudden the weight on my shoulder gets much heavier. What?! I turn around and find Adrien fallen to the ground with blood pilling around his back. I pull Adrien and the boy behind another barrier. I start to pick up Adrien and leave the boy but Adrien pushes away from me dropping back to the ground. He looks at me and with a soft yell he expresses to me “Alex! Save this boy; leave me here please. I've already lived for 25 years. I’ve already had a daughter, a wife, and owned a store.”

I wanted to yell back and tell him that’s why he should live but I could feel the tears emerging in the back of my eyes. Bang! Bang! Bang! He continues over the loud noises “He’s 16! He lied to be here. He doesn't have a wife, he has a girl. He doesn't have kids, he is a kid!”

I let out a scream of pain. For the first time since my son was born I let out tears but this time not of happiness; of pain, terror, and anger.

Adrien used his last bit of strength to yell at me “ Be a man Alex! Save this kid.”

I threw a stone that was placed next to me “Save this boy for me…”

I started nodding but Adrien's face went pale and I watched his breath slowly stop. I wanted to scream, cry, and kill who shot him but I remembered we were at war so the most I can do is save this kid. I hiked the kid onto my back and asked him “Kid you better stay with me here cause I promised I would save you. What's your name?”

His soft voice replied “Andy.”


Oh My Gosh! I startle myself awake back in my safe and cozy bed next to my wife realizing it was just another night terror back to that day. I walk downstairs and look into the living room to see that he was awake as well. He looks at me “You okay Alex?”

I smile and put my hand on his shoulder “ I’m okay Andy…”

“I'll be okay.”


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Blog
bottom of page