top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlin Bountas

Act 5, Scene 5 : Macbeth adaptation

ACT 5, SCENE 5


SEYTON

The queen, my lord, is dead.


MACBETH

The Serpent lady deserved to kick the Bucket.

The queen anon lays burning with the devil, as nay god wouldst take someone as poisonous as h’r. Days with h'r went slow and made me realizeth the lady held me back; this is nothing f'r thee to hear. Leave betimes.


Exit SEYTON


MACBETH


What may I have done to des’r’vd this?

Am I full of sins?

Are the hags right?

Do I Fear Macduff?

Nay!

I can’t start humor pow'rless. I w'rk'd hard to best where I am.

I can't - and won't w'rk backwards. I beath thee king and th’ dominant man!

Do I eve’ dare to look for the one who has given up her ghost?

A king without a queen is still a king, just without toxins in his wine.

Her euthinasia is thanks to thee and only thee.

My hands are full of red, yet I dare to regret any.

I am but a tyrant.

My title calls of only brave, proud, and manly Macbeth.

My manliness will make Macduff bleed under my finger tips.

His head! Yes, his head!

Macduff’s head willeth be framed upon thee fireplace.




Macbeth finishes bombard of wine and throws t’gainst mure leaving shards everywhere

Macbeth grabs shard of glass and slits his hand whilst laughing


MACBETH


I might not but draweth my own blood first so I can picture how Macduff behold’s on his adventure to his eternal reward.

Macduff's head will be heavy in my hand.


Enter Servant


SERVANT


Macbeth? Lord you seem unwell, thee hand is bleeding from oneself?

May you back down and go get some shuteye?


MACBETH

The king, you filthy pig ask to back down?

Where has your birther gone wrong?

Unless the trees come to slay me, I will stand my ground.


Macbeth Withdraws his dagger

Servant falls to floor dead.


MACBETH

This is my world and any man birthed from a woman won’t stop me!


Messenger Enters


MESSENGER

The wood began to move.






REFLECTION


In Act 5, Scene 5 of Macbeth Shakespeare expresses how Lady Macbeth dies, and the audience see’s how Macbeth is more annoyed than Upset about his wife's death. In my adaptian of this scene I wanted to show how the death of Lady Macbeth pushes Macbeth that much further and leads him to fear how much power he truly wants. His fear is clearly shown in this quotation “What may I have done to des’r’vd this? Am I full of sins? Are the hags right? Do I Fear Macduff? Nay!” This quotation was important for my adaptation to represent my idea of Macbeth not wanting to even answer or think about all the possibilities of him not being in control. A metaphor is then added to express the hatred Macbeth was feeling towards Lady Macbeth “The queen anon lays burning with the devil, as any god wouldst take someone as poisonous as h’r.” Using the Devil was very important because during a very religious time anyone who ‘worked’ with the devil was executed, foreshadowing Macbeth later being killed. Moreover, The metaphor “This is my world and any man birthed from a woman won’t stop me!” is relevant to express how the witches earlier mentioned how to fear a man born not from a woman. This also allows my audience to understand just how greedy he became. However, Macbeth stays greedy and confident, the last line reads “ The wood began to move” which is actually a line within Macbeth to cross one check off of the witches prophecy. My scene consists of important soliloquies. The soliloquies allow the audience to get more understanding of the characters thoughts and intentions and with this allows them to see how Macbeth is motivated for more all caused by his anger from his wife's death. My adaptation is meant for the audience to get a more understanding of how his wife's death led him to a craze for even more power and blood.







Work Cited

SparkNotes. Macbeth: No Fear Shakespeare: Deluxe Student Edition. Sterling Publishing Company, Incorporated, 2020.


3 views0 comments

Komentáře


Blog
bottom of page