top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlin Bountas

Macbeth’s Monologue : ACT 5, SCENE 5

What may I have done to des’r’vd this?

Am I full of sins?

Are the hags right?

Do I Fear Macduff?

Nay!

I can’t start humor pow'rless. I w'rk'd hard to best where I am.

I can't - and won't w'rk backwards. I beath thee King and th’ Dominant man!

Do I eve’ dare to look for the one who has given up her ghost?

A king without a queen is still a king, just without toxins in his wine.

Her euthinasia is thanks to thee and only thee.

My hands are full of red, yet I dare to regret any.

I am but a tyrant.

My title calls of only Brave, Proud, and Manly Macbeth.

My manliness will make Macduff bleed under my finger tips.

His head! Yes, his Head!

Macduff’s head willeth be framed upon thee fireplace.




Reflection

In Act 5, Scene 5 of Macbeth Seyton informs Macbeth about Lady Macbeth’s death. Macbeth expresses no remorse and continues on about no meaning of life. In my adaptation to himself he truly was upset. More upset about the situation being a curse on him than actually losing his loved one. He quickly overcomes this with a craziness within his brain about being a man. His craziness is expressed clearly when I use the words “My manliness will make Macduff bleed under my finger tips.” I had Macduff talk about his manliness killing Macduff referring to Macduff not being a true man. A metaphor is then used to express Macduff lying to himself about how he feels “My hands are full of red, yet I dare to regret any.” I used this metaphor as for earlier in the play he felt no water would ever clear his sins of murder, but now it dosen’t matter. Furthermore, rhetorical questions are used to emphasize the fighting within his brain “What may I have done to des’r’vd this? Am I full of sins? Are the hags right? Do I Fear Macduff?” This quotation adds to how Macbeth was never mentally stable and how his wife changed his thought process. This writing is written as a soliloquy because it allows the reader to understand how he truly feels. This is important to see how Macbeth is really unstable and crazy.











Work Cited

SparkNotes. Macbeth: No Fear Shakespeare: Deluxe Student Edition. Sterling Publishing Company, Incorporated, 2020.


3 views0 comments

Comments


Blog
bottom of page