top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlin Bountas

Beginning of the end


I stood there just watching my family die.


15 years alone on a planet with no family, friends, or idea of reality - it changes the idea of the meaning of life. My parents sent me to Planet Z when I was 5 years old. Planet Z is a massive, supernatural, calm planet. I know my parents did this to protect me but when I think of them it's a dark fog. A fog that you fight to even see through.


My only memory of them is when they dragged me to the launchpad.

“Rosa…” my mom teared.She hugged me so tight it felt as if she was choking me. She handed me my favorite rugged teddy bear and a black and white photo of our little ‘content’ family. My dad pulled her away, closing the shuttle. All I remember after that is crying and screaming from both ends. The last moments at home will always be my worst and best memory.


Today is my birthday. I turn 20 today. Every year I go to the one spot on Planet Z where I can see my home. Today is different, though. Today is the date my mom wrote on the back of our photo in her fancy writing, writing that doesn't even fit our family. I stood there, I watched, I waited.

BOOM


My home is gone. I am now really alone. I stand there silent. my mom, my dad, my home are all gone. Deathly emotions run through my brain, unable to catch onto one. Was that even my home? Are they even my family? Why am I here?


I quickly run back to my ‘camp’ scrumiding through all my belongings. I find the photo…

Tears escape my tired eyes. I pull the cut up photo to my face, crying.

“Mom, how did you know?” I scream “How did you know!”

I angrily rip the photo in half revealing a note.

I cautiously pull out the tiny note.


“Dear Rosa ,

You're 20 today! Happy birthday!

I'm sorry I couldn't have come with you. I'm sorry I left you alone. I’m sorry we died, but you didn’t. I can promise you even though you feel alone, punished, and abandoned your not. You are our savior. This isn't the end. It is your beginning! Search and you will find what is beyond.

Love, Mama”


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Blog
bottom of page