top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlin Bountas

Chapter 36 of On The Come Up

My dad swings me around which feels as though I’m above the world. He kisses my cheek and rubs Trey’s messy waves. Every step he takes towards the door his face gets more blurry. I plop down next to Trey on the couch and resume beating his butt in Mario Kart. I feel a cold and wet hand grab my tiny shoulder. I look behind me and scream. It’s Lawless, but not my dad. I try leaving his grip but it gets tighter. My dad’s blurry face is now inches away from me, I feel his heartless breath on my neck. He’s dirty and bleeding. His white shirt now soaked red. “Daddy?” My voice squeaks of terror “Daddy what’s wrong?” He releases my shoulder and falls to the ground, Trey jumps the couch and drops down to dad’s chest “You killed him Bri! You killed dad!”


“Bri breathe. You're okay, I’m here.” Curtis hugs me. I wake up on my bed with homework all around me and Curtis holding me up. What was that? Ever since I got that tweet two weeks ago I’ve been having these terrible nightmares again. They feel so damn real. It hurts. Curtis rubs his thumb along my cheek and it changes my focus to his luscious, yet very dry lips. He leans down and kisses me “Princess you doin’ okay?” Am I okay? No. I’m worried that all this studying won’t pay off, I’m worried Aunt Pooh will never be released, I’m worried dad’s disappointed, and I’m especially worried this meeting tonight won’t go well. “Just … having those nightmares again about my dad. It has me thinking, am I dissap-” Before I could finish Curtis cuts me off “Brianna still-don’t-know-your-middle-name Jackson. My gorgeous girlfriend. Your dad would be so proud of you; If he isn’t though I’ll just have to beat him in the ring.” I fall back laughing. This boy knows how to get me going “You?! You can’ beat me in the ring let alone the king. I still remember those crappy bars you spa-” Curtis cuts me off again with a kiss. Damn if this boy don’t stop cutting me off I’ll just have to mess up those new braids. “Mhm-Hm. How’s the studying Brianna?” Oh crap. Mom. I let out a little sigh and Curtis stands straight up “Hello Ms.Jackson I better be heading out. Bye Bri, Goodluck tonight” He kisses my cheek and grabs his bag. I have never seen a boy as proper as Curtis Brinkley when my mama walks in on him kissing me. My mom re-focuses on me “Bri you ready for tonight? Are you ready to sign the big deal?”


I open my Texts and the most recent one reads “Bri we’re excited to have you tonight! Can’t wait to see how the future of hip hop works her stuff. Baby girl, this world gonna be all yours.” A huge smile grows on my face, I jump up and hug my mom.

“Mom. Can you tell Aunt Pooh that me and Nas are making a song tonight!” Trey comes running into my tweety bird room and joins the hug, he yells so loud I swear the record studio could hear him “My sister’s gonna be a superstar! A goddamn queen!” My mom hits the back of his head “quiet down Trey. You tryna wake the dead?” Oh god mama’s always keeping us in line no matter what.


Reflection


On The Come Up really shows how Bri went through a hard time losing people, but comes to the conclusion that her loved ones may leave but she won't leave herself. I wanted to add a chapter after the epilogue so that the reader could understand how Bri may have grown as a person but little parts of who she was will always be a part of her. I added the part at the beginning about her dad and the blurry face and feeling guilt because as she grows his memory will become more tainted and distant and with her fulfilling a dream he could never finish she could have a fear of taking his dream away. I also added Bri openly telling Curtis about her nightmares to show how she trusts others now and that she isn’t scared to show how scared she truly is. “Am I okay? No. I’m worried that all this studying won’t pay off, I’m worried Aunt Pooh will never be released, I’m worried dad’s disappointed, and I’m especially worried this meeting tonight won’t go well.” I added this part to represent how Bri is still a worrisome teen and isn’t some perfect up coming rapper. It shows she will never forget her past and that makes her truer to why she started rapping at the beginning. “Baby girl, this world gonna be all yours.” I choose this to be the last words of the texts to tease who sent her the message, also because this was one of the first things Aunt Pooh showed her about rap and what always stuck with Bri. The mystery person who tweeted Bri I chose to be Nas. I chose Nas because it was one of Bri’s biggest inspirations along with a big tie to Bri and Aunt Pooh’s relationship.


Work Cited

Thomas, Angie. On the Come Up. HarperCollins Publishers, 2020.




0 views0 comments

Comments


Blog
bottom of page